Healthcare Distribution Alliance – Patients Move Us.
Share Print


Rx Safety and Healthcare Leadership Award

Rx Safety AwardHDA’s Rx Safety and Healthcare Leadership Award, or the Rx Award, recognizes public officials for their leadership and ongoing commitment to public policies that support and promote the safe, efficient and reliable delivery of lifesaving medicines to patients nationwide. These qualities are represented in the Rx Award by the golden bulldog, watching over the safety and integrity of the nation’s prescription medicine supply.

Eligible Recipients

 The Rx Award is presented on an ongoing basis to federal and state public officials, including:

  • U.S. senators or representatives;
  • U.S. administrative or regulatory officials;
  • Governors;
  • State legislators;
  • State Board of Pharmacy members or officials; and, 
  • State administrative or regulatory officials.

There may be more than one award recipient from each of the categories listed below in any given year; individuals may receive the award more than one time, either within a specific category or in different categories.

Award Criteria

HDA presents the award to federal and state public officials who:

  • Introduce, support or author legislation, regulations or policies and champion technologies that further enhance supply chain security, patient safety, business efficiencies and defend the industry against policies that could compromise these or are otherwise harmful to the supply chain.
  • Support fair and accurate reimbursement policies that ensure continuous patient access to life saving medicines at their pharmacy, physician’s office, hospital or other healthcare provider.
  • Continually promote constructive discussion and ongoing collaboration between supply chain partners and government and endeavor to learn about the distribution industry through meetings, appearances, tours and other events.

Nomination, Voting and Judging Process

Distributor members of HDA’s Federal and State Government Affairs and Regulatory Affairs Committees, as well as HDA staff may submit nominations for the award in advance of their year-end conference calls. In special circumstances, nominations can be submitted at any point throughout the year. Voting will take place during the committee conference calls or meetings; a simple majority vote will determine the award winner. HDA staff — in consultation with the award recipient, appropriate nominating committee and member companies — will then determine the forum in which to present the awards.

Previous Recipients


Congressman Tom Marino (R-Pa.)

Congressman Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)

Congressman Peter Welch (D-Vt.)

Congresswoman Judy Chu (D-Calif.)


Senator Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)

Congressman Bob Latta (R-Ohio)

Congressman Jim Matheson (D-Utah)

Congressman John D. Dingell (D-Mich.)


Senator Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)

Senator Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)

Congressman Gene Green (D-Texas)

Congressman John Shimkus (R-Ill.) 


Congressman Mike Ross (D-Ark.)

Congressman Ed Whitfield (R-Ky.)



  • Jewelyn A. Cosgrove
  • Director, Federal Government Affairs
  • (703) 885-0272
© 2020 Healthcare Distribution Alliance. All rights reserved.
HDA: E | C | C2 | NF | O365